Kaiser Karl

I don’t know about you, but me I have always loved Kaiser Karl. I know some people say he’s totally passe (like Lily) but I can still fully appreciate his past (and present) genius. I always did – his one liners are so uniquely German I loved him long before I saw Lagerfeld Confidential (a lovely present from my dear aunt)…

Karl Otto Lagerfeldt – born in Hamburg in 1933.

Some quotes from the Kaiser himself:

“Personality begins where comparison ends.”

“Yes, some people say to me you’re too skinny, but never a skinny person says that to me, only people who could lose a few pounds say that.”

“But if I have a lot of imagination, I could tell myself whatever I wanted, you know. I handle myself quite well. I’m kind of fascist with myself, you know. There’s no discussion. There is an order. You follow it.”

“Only the minute and the future are interesting in fashion — it exists to be destroyed. If everybody did everything with respect, you’d go nowhere.

“When I took over Chanel, it was a Sleeping Beauty; almost dead; she was snoring.”



 

Leave a Reply

