must I rust…?

I did a class on trend forecasting at the Central Saint Martins College about a year ago – it kind of ended in the painful realisation that I seem to be a tad colour blind.

oh well. I was upset about this for about 3 weeks maybe and since then I joke about it and have generally given up on any ambition I might have had of entering the field of trend forecasting.

that however does not stop me from getting involved in ponderings on different colours and colour trends each season – and I joyfully participate in the debate on rust – as it is something I can clearly see…for both women’s and menswear this Fall 2010, rust seems to be one of the overbearing themes seen on many runways…

in my humble opinion “rust” is just a new word for something along the lines of “copper” which again is a metallic take on “auburn” I suppose…it is the need to come up for a new name for more-or-less the same colour albeit with a slight nuance each autumn – it being the core autumnal colour and there being NOthing any of us can do about it (trees just don’t turn blue in autumn do they?).

rust colour dresses autumn 2010 zac posen rust dresses autumn 2010 designer

The rust comes in very varying shades which luckily gives us as the wearer more flexibility – be it that our skin-tone is slightly more this way or that or maybe just the majority of our wardrobe can only be combined with a more orange or more red rust shade…there’s a rust for us all!

Here are some potentially rust-ish pieces I found on the internet – just a darned click away making it tres dangerous:

rust shearling boot

I have ranged far and wide in my definition of rust to make sure there is a bit in it for us all…no matter if one veers more to the red or to the orange or to the tan brown side of the spectrum…personally I’m all about the reds though.

Those shearling ankle boots definitely do hit every box in the trend department this season – ankle? tick. shearling? tick. rust? tick. wedge? tick. You get the picture…

rust leather hand bag

These biker boots from Asos I just had to throw in because I love all biker boots – and being this red they are close to enough to rust to be valid for this post by my books :D and the leather bag is supposedly “ox blood” according to Asos – but again close to rust for me I reckon…

I shall leave you with these pieces and a few more images to consider “rust” for yourselves now – yay or nay? what do we say?

demi moore in rust dress rust red top and leather skirt by chloe

celebrity rust dress rachel bilson akris rust dress spring 2009

Comments
2 Responses to “must I rust…?”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] into the wonderful world of CAMEL – which is the new HOT colour of the season (alongside RUST of […]



Leave a Reply

